Select Page

The UX Book

Process and Guidelines for Ensuring a Quality User Experience

About The UX Book

A comprehensive text and practitioner’s field guide to understanding, assimilating, applying, and practicing the complete interaction design discipline for usability and a quality user experience.

Extensive coverage, including a full interaction lifecycle process for delivering a quality user experience.

An agile interaction lifecycle and rapid development approaches to meet real world project constraints.

Features

Addressing a
long-standing gap

Over the years, in our conversations with colleagues in different colleges and universities, we found a need for a good process and product book that is easy and straightforward to adopt by instructors. We set out to address this gap with this book. No other HCI product and process book has the ready-to-use supplementary materials that offer such a low barrier for new instructors to pick up this material and teach a UE/UX course like a pro.

Comprehensive coverage

There are books on portions of what we cover, books on only the iterative lifecycle, contextual research early in the lifecycle, usability and user experience testing late in the lifecycle, creative design and innovation, pragmatics of usability engineering in the real world, and so on. However they do not cover these topics and all the others as an integrative whole as we do in this book.

Our treatment of contextual inquiry and contextual analysis in the tradition of Beyer & Holtzblatt, (Contextual Design: A Customer-Centered Approach to Systems Designs, 1st ed., 1997, Morgan Kaufmann), adapted to the context of a full lifecycle process, is exclusive to this book.

Audiences

Text for graduate and senior undergraduate courses on usability engineering and designing for the user experience

Text for industry short courses on usability engineering and designing for the user experience

Self-learning guide and reference book for practitioners in the field

Supplementary materials

Comprehensive set of supplementary materials and Instructor’s Guide to mount a college-level (or other) course on user experience design, complete enough to support even an instructor who is new to this topic.

Authors

Pardha Pyla

Pardha Pyla

Pardha Pyla is a Senior Interaction Designer at Bloomberg L. P., New York, NY. He is one of the pioneering researchers in the area of connecting software engineering and usability engineering lifecycles. He has consulting experience in integrating user experience processes into industrial software development practices. Pyla has a bachelors degree in Electronics and Communications Engineering from Nagarjuna University (India), masters degrees in both Computer Engineering and Computer Science from Virginia Tech, and a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Virginia Tech.

Rex Hartson

Rex Hartson

Rex Hartson is Professor Emeritus of Computer Science at Virginia Tech, Blacksburg, VA, where he is the founding faculty member in HCI. For 30 years, as a pioneer in HCI as a field and in usability engineering as a discipline and practice, he helped develop many of the techniques described in this book and which are now considered an integral part of good practice.

Read More

He is author of over 70 refereed journal articles, conference papers, and book chapters, editor or co-editor for Advances in Human-Computer Interaction, Volumes 1-4, Ablex Publishing Co., Norwood, NJ, and co-author of first book to emphasize the usability engineering process (Hix, D., & Hartson, H. R. Developing user interfaces: Ensuring usability through product & process, 1993, John Wiley & Sons, Inc.). Hartson also has extensive practical experience in consulting and training for business, industry, and government.

Contact Us

Contact the authors with questions, comments, or to receive a one-time email notification when the book is released. We will get back to you as soon as we can.
– Rex & Pardha